Theology has been taught since the foundation of the University in 1451. The first Chair of Divinity was founded under the Nova Erectio of 1577 and its holder was, ex-officio, the Principal. The last Principal to hold the chair was Robert Herbert Story, from 1898 to 1907.

This second Chair of Divinity was instituted in 1640. The patron is the University Court, acting since 1935 on the recommendation of a Board of Nomination constituted of representatives of the Court and of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.


Award Type: Professorships
Year Founded: 1640
Record last updated: 10th Apr 2008

There are no comments available.