Political Economy (Bonar-Macfie Chair)


The James Bonar Chair of Economics was founded in 1962, and named for the University graduate and distinguished political economist, James Bonar (1851-1942). The title was changed to the Bonar-Macfie Chair of Political Economy in 1990, in honour of Alec Lawrence Macfie (1898-1980) the Adam Smith Professor of Political Economy from 1946 until 1958 and the Dean of Faculties, 1974 to 1978.


Political Economy (Bonar-Macfie Chair)
Award Type: Professorships
Year Founded: 1962
Record last updated: 10th Apr 2008

University Connections

Associated people

Post Holder:

There are no comments available.