Ewing Prizes

List of Awards


The Ewing Prizes were founded in 1827 by the Glasgow merchant James Ewing of Strathleven (1775-1853), undergraduate in Arts 1786-90, LLD 1826.

Ewing presented the University with a gift of £100 to establish the Ewing Gold Medal, a prize for the best essay in Civil History.

The Ewing prizes are currently awarded annually for the best essays on a prescribed historical subject, alternately in Medieval and Modern History.


Ewing Prizes
Award Type: Prizes
Year Founded: 1827
Senate Office: Prizes
Record last updated: 3rd Jul 2019

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.