Jeffrey Medal

List of Awards


The Jeffrey Medal was founded in 1821 by Francis Jeffrey (1773-1850), advocate and editor of the Edinburgh Review, who had been an undergraduate in Arts from 1787 to 1789 and was Rector of the University from 1820 to 1822. It was amalgamated in 1986 into a single classical medals fund, from which medals may be awarded to students in any of the classes of Greek or Latin, who are deemed by the Head of Department to be of sufficient distinction. The Jeffrey medal is normally awarded to the best student in level 1 Greek.


Jeffrey Medal
Award Type: Medals
Year Founded: 1821
More Information [external]
Record last updated: 7th Aug 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.