Arthur Bursary

List of Awards


The Arthur Bursary was instituted in 1892 by Jane Arthur of Barshaw (c1826-1907), wife of the wholesale merchant James Arthur. It is awarded to the student in the Faculty of Medicine who takes the highest place among the women candidates at the First Professional Examination. If two candidates are of equal merit, the bursary will be divided between them; if more than two are equal, a special examination may be held to determine the award. Tenable for three years.


Arthur Bursary
Award Type: Bursaries
Year Founded: 1892
View information about awards currently being offered
Record last updated: 5th Jul 2007

University Connections

Associated people

There are no comments available.